The languages of Suriname

"Suriname is situated on the northeast coast of South America, between Guyana and French Guiana, and is home to about 15 distinct languages. Since it was a colony of The Netherlands until 1975, the official language of Suriname is Dutch. Other languages spoken in Suriname include several Amerindian languages, several Creole languages, Suriname Javanese and Sarnami Hindustani. SIL researchers first came to Suriname in 1968 and worked for more than 30 years doing language and anthropological research, literacy, as well as producing dictionaries, reading books, grammar descriptions, and doing translation. Since 2001, SIL no longer has an official presence in the country. This site makes their research available to anyone who is interested in learning more about these languages."

This site is part of the Etnolinguistica.Org network.
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.